Defense Foundation Europe Homeland Security Industry Intelligence SIGNAL Magazine    

     Member Login
Member ID Password
Forgot: Password | Member ID            
Join or renew today to connect with the premier network of thought leaders in the global security community.

Join/Renew Links:



AFCEA Weekly Digest
Chapter News
Event Presentations
Online Directories
PDC Preferred Providers
AFCEA Shopping
Strategic Partners
Women in AFCEA
Working the Frontline:
Job Guide for Veterans




ADM James G. Stavridis, USN, to receive AFCEA’s highest award


For Immediate Release April 28, 2011


FAIRFAX, VA – AFCEA International is pleased to announce that Admiral James G. Stavridis, U.S. Navy, Commander, U.S. European Command and NATO Supreme Allied Commander Europe, has been selected as the 2011 David Sarnoff Award winner.


AFCEA established the David Sarnoff Award, its highest honor, to recognize individuals who have made lasting and significant contributions to global peace. Recipients have demonstrated a sustained and personal commitment to furthering communications, electronics, and information technologies toward achieving a more secure tomorrow.


The Award’s namesake, David Sarnoff, exemplifies those great individuals whose work, sacrifice, enthusiasm and patriotism form the backbone of America. An early pioneer in the radio industry, Sarnoff quickly rose to prominence in the fledgling telecommunications business. During World War II, he experienced first-hand how open dialogue and strong relationships between government and industry in times of peace can help ensure effective communications during wartime. As the Founding Father of the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association – AFCEA as it is known today – Sarnoff established the Association’s legacy of communication, dialogue, and an open and ethical information exchange between the Public and Private Sectors. These principles remain the pillars of AFCEA International today.


ADM Stavridis has served as Commander, European Command and Supreme Allied Commander, Europe since 2009. A Surface Warfare Officer, he commanded the Destroyer USS Barry (DDG 52) from 1993-1995, completing UN/NATO deployments to Haiti and Bosnia, and a combat cruise to the Arabian Gulf. Barry won the Battenberg Cup as the top ship in the Atlantic Fleet under his command. In 1998, he commanded Destroyer Squadron 21 and deployed to the Arabian Gulf, winning the Navy League’s John Paul Jones Award for Inspirational Leadership. From 2002-2004, he commanded Enterprise Carrier Strike Group, conducting combat operations in the Arabian Gulf in support of both Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom.  From 2006-2009, he commanded U.S. Southern Command in Miami, focused on Latin America and the Caribbean. Ashore, he has served as a strategic and long range planner on the staffs of the Chief of Naval Operations and the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. He has also served as the Executive Assistant to the Secretary of the Navy and the Senior Military Assistant to the Secretary of Defense.  He holds various decorations and awards, including two awards of the Defense Distinguished Service Medal, the Defense Superior Service Medal and five awards of the Legion of Merit. He is author or co-author of several books on naval ship handling and leadership, including Command at Sea, Destroyer Captain, and Partnership for the Americas.


“Who better than Jim Stavridis to join the Honor Roll of former Sarnoff winners,” comments Kent Schneider, President and CEO of AFCEA. “His contributions to world peace are legendary - currently, as SACEUR, he is forging a strong and binding coalition of Allies who will help to keep this Nation and our friends around the world safer and more secure. Prior to this assignment, as Commander, Southern Command, he used his incredible leadership skills to help stymie the scourge of illicit drug trafficking, and to build partnerships with some of our most important friends to the south of our border. We are thrilled to honor him with AFCEA’s highest award.”


Previous Sarnoff recipients include Vice President Dick Cheney, General Colin Powell, Vice President Al Gore, Norm Augustine, Admiral Bobby Inman, Senator Barry Goldwater, Admiral Archie Clemins, The Honorable Duane Andrews, Dr. Ralph Shrader, General Richard Myers, Senator Daniel Inouye, Admiral Edmund Giambastiani, General Michael Hayden, General James Cartwright, Senator John Warner, and the Honorable John Grimes.


The Award will be presented on Wednesday, September 14, 2011 at the Willard InterContinental Hotel in Washington, D.C. Banquet tickets and tables are available. For more information visit or contact Julie Lama at



AFCEA International, established in 1946, is a non-profit membership association serving the military, government, industry, and academia as an ethical forum for advancing professional knowledge and relationships in the fields of communications, IT, intelligence, and global security.  To learn more about AFCEA International, visit

#    #    #




What Can AFCEA Do For You?

SIGNAL Magazine

Sign up for:

SIGNAL Connections
AFCEA Email News

Connect with AFCEA

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Join our Group
Follow us on Google+
Follow our Company Page
See our Flickr Photos
Watch our Videos
Event Presentations

Share [Back to Top]

Fact Sheet
Board of Directors

Individual Membership
Corporate Membership Member Portal

List of Chapters
Find a Chapter
Student Chapter

Current Courses
Leadership Forum

Listing of Events

Press Releases
AFCEA in the News

SIGNAL Magazine
White Papers

Annual Awards
Available Scholarships
STEM Initiatives
The Armed Forces Communications
and Electronics Association

  © AFCEA International