AFCEA Leadership Award

This is awarded to a long-standing member of AFCEA with a record of sustained contributions to the Association, and exceptional leadership skills. The write-up must be based mainly on leadership in AFCEA rather than the candidate's professional career. Winners are selected by the AFCEA International Awards Committee. Nominees for this award are often previous Medal of Merit winners.

The Leadership Award will be graded on the following:

AFCEA participation and contributions
  • Specific examples of performance that highlight outstanding leadership with documented growth and/or improvement in AFCEA under his/her leadership

    AFCEA Recognition
  • Previous Medal of Merit or other AFCEA recognition including at the chapter level

    Professional Accomplishments
  • Exceptional professional performance at a senior leadership level in the fields of communications, electronics, intelligence, and information systems with documented examples

  • Other professional awards/achievements
    • Must be a current AFCEA member
    • Must have been active in AFCEA for at least six years before being nominated for this award
    • Must have at least three years in a leadership position at the HQ or chapter level
    • Must be able to document a minimum of seven significant AFCEA achievements in the past two years
    • If previous Medal of Merit winner, it must have been won at least two years prior to being nominated for this award
    • Individual cannot nominate themselves
    • Nomination must be endorsed by the nominee's AFCEA Regional Vice President (RVP)


    Contact Information:
    Susan Emert
    (703) 631-6191

    Click here for a complete list of AFCEA awards.

    Click here for a complete list of past award winners.

    Nomination Form

    Nominee Name: (Last, First)
    AFCEA Chapter Name:
    Nominee Rank/Honorific: (e.g. Col, Ms, Dr)
    Nominee Professional Job Title:
    Nominee Professional Organization:
    Nominee AFCEA Position:
    Nominee Phone:
    Nominee Email:
    Nominee Address:
    Nominator Name:
    Nominator Rank/Title: (e.g. Col, Ms, Dr)
    Nominator Professional Organization:
    Nominator AFCEA Position:
    Nominator Phone:
    Nominator Email:
    Nominator Address:
    Justification:(500 word limit)
    Please fill in the sections below as described in the template text
    Please leave the template titles in place (they won’t count against your word count)
    It is recommended you draft your nomination in Word before pasting into nomination form.

    Word Count: