CyberPatriot National Winners Receive Northrop Grumman Scholarships

April 7, 2017
By Sandra Jontz
E-mail About the Author

The Northrop Grumman Foundation awarded $50,000 in scholarships to high school teams that excelled at the CyberPatriot IX National Finals Competition this week in Baltimore.

The CyberPatriot IX finals featured 28 high school and middle school teams that defended virtual networks and mobile devices from a professional aggressor team. The competition drew a record 4,404 teams, a 30 percent increase over last year, according to a press release. 

Each first-place winner received $2,000; second-place winners accepted $1,500; and third-place winners collected $1,000. This is the seventh year the Northrop Grumman Foundation has provided scholarship funds.

Here is the list of winning teams and their divisions:

Open Division

National Champions: Team Togo, North Hollywood High School, North Hollywood, California.
Runner-Up: Team Maroon, Red Bank Regional High School, Little Silver, New Jersey.
Third Place: Team Falcons, Poolesville High School, Poolesville, Maryland.

All-Service Division

National Champions: Team Wolfpack, Colorado Springs Cadet Squadron (Civil Air Patrol), Colorado Springs, Colorado.
Runner-Up: Team Cyber Warriors 3, Troy High School (Navy JROTC), Fullerton, California.
Third Place: Team Marine Raiders, Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School (Marine Corps JROTC), Fitchburg, Massachusetts.

Middle School

National Champions: Team Error 37, Summit Lakes Middle School, Lees Summit, Missouri.
Runner-Up: Team CyberFalcons, Oak Valley Middle School, San Diego.
Third Place: Team CyberAegis Project Eeveelution, Oak Valley Middle School, San Diego.

CyberPatriot was created by the National Youth Cyber Education program of the Air Force Association (AFA).

Enjoyed this article? SUBSCRIBE NOW to keep the content flowing.


Share Your Thoughts: