• Undergraduate STEM Diversity Scholarship winner Lara Quiring receives her certificate from Col. Sean Murphy, USAF, chapter president, at the Greater Omaha Chapter luncheon in August.
     Undergraduate STEM Diversity Scholarship winner Lara Quiring receives her certificate from Col. Sean Murphy, USAF, chapter president, at the Greater Omaha Chapter luncheon in August.

AFCEA Spring Scholarships Support Students Nationwide

November 1, 2019

AFCEA International has awarded more than $70,000 in the form of 25 scholarships for the 2019-2020 academic year to both undergraduate and graduate students nationwide.

“I am incredibly grateful to have been chosen,” says Francesca Falzon, who is pursuing her doctoral degree in computer science. “Having my current research on encrypted databases and my involvement in the computer science community recognized as a valuable contribution to the mission of AFCEA is a great motivator.”

AFCEA’s scholarships especially empower students traditionally left out of STEM fields, such as those who pursue their education later in life. “I now know that you do not need to look like or act like any stereotype to be worthy of an information technology degree,” says Karen Brindle. “Thank you for believing in me, for helping me to show my daughter that she can believe in herself too, and for reinforcing that it is never too late to pursue your dreams.”

The scholarships were only made possible through generous support from ManTech, Booz Allen Hamilton, the Montgomery Chapter, the Northern Virginia Chapter and individual donors.

Thank you to all the donors, judges and presenters, and congratulations to all of the Spring 2019 winners:


Maj. Gen. Eugene C. Renzi/ManTech Memorial STEM Teachers Scholarship

Kristy D. Capelle,
Converse College

AFCEA STEM Teachers Scholarship

Ryan M. Allen,
Regis University

Jordan D. Smith,
Western Governors

Julie B. Steimer,
Tennessee Tech

Ralph W. Shrader Graduate Diversity Scholarship

Karen Brindle,
University of Maryland University College

Francesca M. Falzon,
University of Chicago


STEM Major Scholarship

Edward “Bradley” Goldenberg,
Arizona State University

Bryn C. Loftness,
Colorado Mesa University

Jonathan Ory,
Limestone College

Nathan T. Stack,
Cornell University

Benjamin A. Tanner,
State University

Briana K. Yamamoto,
Saint Leo University

STEM Undergraduate Diversity Scholarship

Kelsey M. Anderson,
Washington and Lee University

Lara Quiring,
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

AFCEA Cyber Security Scholarship

Roderick E. Bishop,
South Carolina
State University

David N. Vargas Puga,
University of Portland

AFCEA Afghanistan and Iraq War Veterans Scholarship

CWO3 Barton A.
Mattmiller, USMC,
American Military

David Lee Plattenberger,
University of
Arizona South


Vice Adm. Jon L. Boyes, USN (Ret.) Memorial Scholarship

Officer Candidate
Jacob M. Collins, NROTC, University of Utah

Joan Bowden Memorial Scholarship (Sponsored by the Montgomery Chapter)

Cadet Robert P.
Craven, AFROTC,
Mississippi State University

Mort Marks
Memorial Scholarship
(Sponsored by the Montgomery Chapter)

Midshipman Ronald D.
Skrine Jr., NROTC,
Savannah State University

AFCEA ROTC Scholarship

Midshipman Delany M. Bolton, NROTC,
University of Notre Dame

Cadet Tyler J.
Gilliland, AFROTC,
University of Portland

Midshipman Hunter R. Mortemore, MCROTC, University of Notre Dame

Midshipman David Z. Sam,
NROTC, Virginia Tech

Enjoyed this article? SUBSCRIBE NOW to keep the content flowing.


Share Your Thoughts: