Course #382-13-FXVA-1

(ISC)² DoD CAP - Certification and Accreditation Professional

Dates: Nov-14-2012 - Nov-16-2012


AFCEA Headquarters (Map)
4400 Fair Lakes Court
Fairfax, VA 22033

Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm

$1,400 Government AFCEA Member
        Government Non Member
        Non-Government AFCEA Member
        Non-Government Non Member

This course qualifies for Continuing Education Units.
Note: This course has been cancelled. The CAP exam is offered directly through ISC2, for an additional fee. ISC2 recommends that students complete the course and take about two weeks of additional study time before taking the exam. More infomation about the CAP can be found at To register for the CAP exam go to Select Type: Examinations and enter your City, State and Country.

Course Description:

DoD CAP/DIACAP - Certification and Accreditation Professional.

Overview: The Certification and Accreditation Professional (CAP®) credential is an objective measure of the knowledge, skills and abilities required for personnel involved in the process of certifying and accrediting security of information systems. Specifically, this credential applies to those responsible for formalizing processes used to assess risk and establish security requirements. Their decisions will ensure that information systems possess security commensurate with the level of exposure to potential risk, as well as damage to assets or individuals. Today's utilization of technology will never ensure the safety of information assets for tomorrow, and must be vigilantly monitored and constantly validated against changing security requirements triggered by emerging threats. The credential is appropriate for civilian, state and local governments in the U.S., as well as commercial markets. Job functions such as authorization officials, system owners, information owners, information system security officers, and certifiers as well as all senior system managers apply.

Who Should Attend: The CAP is available only to qualified candidates who possess at least two years of relevant certification and accreditation experience.  The ideal candidate should have experience, skills or knowledge in any of the following areas:
* IT security, information assurance, information risk management certification and systems administration
* 1-2 years of general technical experience
* 2 years of general systems experience
* 1-2 years of Database/Systems Development/Network Experience
* Information Security Policy
* Technical or auditing experience within government, the U.S. Department of Defense, the financial or health care industries and/or auditing
* Strong familiarity with NIST documentation

The CAP examination tests the breadth and depth of a candidate's knowledge by focusing on the five domains which comprise the CAP CBK®, taxonomy of information security topics:
* Understanding the Purpose of Certification
* Initiation of the System Authorization Process
* Certification Phase
* Accreditation Phase
* Continuous Monitoring Phase