AFCEA International Chapter News

Newly Elected Leadership Brings Diverse Public and Private Sector Experience

In August, the chapter announced its newly elected executive board for 2020-2021.

Jo Decker, vice president of business winning and strategy at BAE Systems, who most recently served as executive vice president to the chapter, will serve as president for the 2020-2021 term. She will be supported by Jimmie Adkins, vice president of sales, Hitachi Vantara Federal, who will serve as executive vice president; and Nick Nilan, director of product development, Verizon, who will serve as senior vice president.

AFCEA DC has a rich history of innovative programming that enables collaboration between military, government, industry and academia, aligning technology and strategy to meet mission requirements. The chapter largely focuses on the U.S. Defense Department and the intelligence community, as well as homeland security and health related offices (Department of Homeland Security, Veterans Affairs, Military Health).

"I have been involved with AFCEA DC over many years, and look forward to building on the strong legacy of programming that the chapter provides to its members and the defense community at large," Decker said. "AFCEA DC's leadership, board members and committees will establish a year-long cadence of educational content that directly addresses the emerging trends and technologies driving today's military. And, we will continue our support of promoting the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics to our local students. I am excited to get rolling."

Additional board of directors include: Kevin Griffith, vice president of chapter operations, Red Hat; Caitlin O'Connor, vice president of communications, WTOP; James Hanson, vice president of programs, Government Executive; Valerie Singer, vice president of STEM, Amazon Web Services; Bob Ferrell, vice president of strategic initiatives, World Wide Technology; Christine Vatidis, secretary, OpenText; Jon Jumento, treasurer, Informatica; and Grant Jones, president of Young AFCEANs, Juniper.

Members of the board include: Thelma Barker, Class of 2021, Comcast; Joshua Boehm, Class of 2021, BAE Systems; Carl De Groote, Class of 2021, Cisco; Brian Hajost, Class of 2021, Steel Cloud; Nick Nilan, Class of 2021, Verizon; Mike Quinn, Class of 2021, ID Technologies; Valerie Singer, Class of 2021, Amazon Web Services; Rocky Thurston, Class of 2021, Perspecta; Chris Townsend, Class of 2021, UI Path; Andrew Plofchan, Class of 2022 , HCD Technology; Tim Cothern, Class of 2022, Norseman Defense Technology; John Zeese, Class of 2022, Accenture; Kevin Griffith, Class of 2022, Red Hat; Jeffrey Phelan, Class of 2022, General Dynamics Information Technology; Kirk Kern, Class of 2022, NetApp; Chitra Sivanandam, Class of 2022, SAIC; Thom Skinner, Class of 2022, Netscout; Joe Cubba, Class of 2022, IBM; Kevin Berce, Class of 2023, Nvidia; Jon Check, Class of 2023, Raytheon; Becci DeFrank, Class of 2023, Oracle; Tim Hannon, Class of 2023, Tech Data; Jessica Hersey, Class of 2023, Leidos; Iram Ali, Class of 2023, Amazon Web Services; Eric Oaks, Class of 2023, CenturyLink; Lance Spencer, Class of 2023, AT&T; and Bo Swanson, Class of 2023, Dell.

RSS Feed