AFCEA International Chapter News

Newly Elected Leadership Brings Diverse Expertise

The chapter announced its newly elected executive board for 2021-2022. Board members were carefully selected to uphold AFCEA values and to meet mission requirements through advancing information technology, communications and electronics capabilities.

Jimmie Adkins, vice president of sales at Hitachi Vantara Federal, will serve as chapter president for the 2021-2022 term. He will be supported by Nick Nilan, director of product development, Verizon, who will serve as chapter executive vice president; and Jessica Hersey, vice president, Capture Operations and Excellence, Leidos, who will serve as chapter senior vice president.

The chapter has a rich history of innovative programming that enables collaboration between military, government, industry and academia, aligning technology and strategy to meet mission requirements. The chapter largely focuses on the U.S. Defense Department and intelligence community, as well as homeland security and defense and veteran health-related offices.

The chapter continues to establish its legacy as a premier provider of programming and information to its members and the defense community at large. "As president, I look forward to working with our outstanding and diverse team of leaders, board members and committees, that will help establish educational content that directly addresses the emerging trends and technologies driving today's military. We also look forward to supporting local students within the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics."

In addition to the new members of the board, the chapter has added a new committee and executive role for the 2021-2022 program year. Thelma Barker, director, Federal Sales at Comcast Business, will serve as the chapter's first vice president of diversity, equity and inclusion, sitting on the chapter's executive leadership committee. The goal of this committee is to increase diversity across all of the chapter's panels, events, board and members.

Executive Leadership Team includes: Becci DeFrank, chapter vice president of programs, Oracle; Kevin Griffith, chapter vice president of operations, Snowflake; James Hanson, chapter vice president of communications, Government Executive; Valarie Singer, chapter vice president of STEM, Splunk; Larry Frazier, chapter vice president of strategic initiatives, Cisco Systems; Thelma Barker, chapter vice president of diversity, equity and inclusion, Comcast Business; Chitra Sivanandam, chapter secretary, RGI Corp; Kevin Berce, chapter treasurer Nvidia; and Christina Mapa, chapter president of Emerging Leaders, Red Hat

Board of Directors include: Rhett Butler, Class of 2022, Ironbow Technologies; Tim Cothern, Class of 2022, UiPath; Joe Cubba, Class of 2022, ManTech; John Jumento, Class of 2022, Informatica; Kirk Kern, Class of 2022, NetApp; Jeffrey Phelan Class of 2022, Rubrik; Andrew Plofchan, Class of 2022, HCD Technology / Endoxa Corp; Thom Skinner, Class of 2022, NETSCOUT; John Zeese, Class of 2022, Accenture; Iram Ali, Class of 2023, AWS; Cornelius Brown, Class of 2023, Verizon; Jon Check, Class of 2023, Raytheon Technologies; Greg Clifton, Class of 2023, Intel; Tim Hannon, Class of 2023, Tech Data; Eric Oaks, Class of 2023, Lumen; Lance Spencer, Class of 2023, AT&T; Greg Bourdelais, Class of 2024, Juniper; Chris Collura, Class of 2024, CommScope; Ro Dhanda, Class of 2024, H20.AI; Annie John, Class of 2024, OpenText; Lisa Hand, Class of 2024; BAE Systems; Danielle Manson, Class of 2024, Tyto Athene; Victoria Sutch, Class of 2024, Microsoft; Bo Swanson, Class of 2023, Dell Technologies; and Daniel Thomas, Class of 2024, Hitachi Vantara Federal.

RSS Feed